I’m sorry…want a bath bomb?

Remember that time I started a blog, had so much fun writing a couple of posts, and then disappeared off the face of the earth?!

Yeah, sorry about that.  I have a million excuses, but none of them are good ones.  Can we still be friends?  Can I blame my kids?  Can we just move on?

Good 😉

I have missed this.  Not only do I enjoy writing, but I totally count this as adult conversation, and every SAHM needs adult conversation every once in a while, amiright?  I also feel like I have SO many good recipes and DIY tutorials to share with you!

Let’s start with one that you CANNOT screw up, unless you simply choose to ignore the simple instructions, like I did while making the first batch of these.  With Valentine’s Day coming in less than 24 hours, I think many of you might appreciate this recipe.  Last minute gift idea, anyone?

Bath bombs are so fun to make…if you enjoy the bubbling and fizzing of citric acid when you add water to it, making it impossible to get the consistency and timing right.  Then there’s the issue of molding the bath bomb into the most perfect sphere.  Maybe THAT’S why they cost approximately $85 at the boutiques.  They really are a labor of love, and everyone goes nuts over them!  Let’s give a gift with that wow factor, but dial down the frustration a little bit, shall we?  This recipe is fool-proof (I told you I did it, didn’t I?), takes about 5 minutes to prepare and the final product looks great when gifted.  This recipe is adapted from Rebooted Mom and I love so many of her recipes!

img_1630

Lavender Bath Bombs

1/2 cup baking soda

1/2 cup citric acid

1/4 cup fractionated coconut oil (liquid coconut oil)

5 drops red food coloring, soap dye, or coloring alternative (I used beet juice–it is a great natural alternative and gives a nice pink color!)

10 drops Lavender essential oil (I use Young Living essential oils, because I trust the company and love their mission)*

*not into Lavender?  Try another calming or uplifting essential oil like geranium, grapefruit, or a combo like rosemary and lemon!

Mix all ingredients together in a glass bowl.  Mixture will be crumbly in texture, but will mold and stick together in your hands.  Fill silicone mold with mixture.  Let dry for 24 hours and carefully remove from mold.

Troubleshooting Tip: Only add the exact shown measurements of the ingredients.  Your gut will be screaming at you to “add more coconut oil!” because the mixture will look dry.  Tell your gut to shut it.  Give it a cookie, maybe (gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, if you must).  Adding too much coconut oil will give the mixture too much moisture, and your bath bombs will puff up faster than my eyeballs while watching Grey’s (Dang it, Kepner!).  Ask me how I know…batch #1 is now exclusively for my 3 year old.  She is thrilled.

I made mini heart-shaped bath bombs for my girls’ classes.  I could tell you this was done on purpose because they are little people who only need little bath bombs, but that would be a lie.  I failed to read the full descriptions on Amazon and ended up with itsy bitsy heart molds.  But you know what?  Those suckers are adorable!  Each batch made about 40 mini hearts, so I’m putting 6 hearts into a small mason jar for each kid.  The tags will read: “Valentine, you’re the BOMB!”…I know, I know.  I couldn’t help myself.  I hope you enjoy making these, and be sure to tell all your friends you spent hours making bath bombs!  I won’t tell a soul.

XOXO,

Half Crunchy Mama

Leave a Reply

